Image

Looking my best after throwing up like crazy. UGH.

Not exactly sure why I threw up, as the whole morning sickness phase has been over for weeks and it’s not a bug or food poisoning (THANK GOODNESS) because the nausea hasn’t returned. Perhaps it was the 5 hours in the car driving on curvy roads this morning, while trying without success to get comfortable with my growing belly and that  seatbelt which has no comfortable position on my body plus a chihuahua that wanted to be burrowed in all my crevices.

Yeah, it was probably that.

Aside from today, I have been feeling great! As great as you can feel in intense heat and humidity and relentlessly brutal sunshine with no air conditioning, anyway. Summer is in full effect here in Mexico, which means (as my friend put it who has lived here for 20 years): the air is hot and we won’t feel a cool breeze until November. A terrifying thought, which makes the fact that we’re moving away in three weeks very exciting.

I haven’t been feeling much movement from the Feez, which makes me anxious as hell. However, today, post-vomiting session, I felt three distinct jabs which tells me a) he’s there and b) he’s not a fan of me throwing up. You and me both, kid.

This Thursday will be my 20 week (!!) ultrasound, which means I’ll be halfway there! Crazy! While it has gone fast, I also can’t believe I have that much longer to go because I feel big big BIG already. It took so long to start showing in the first place that I never expected it to be so WOOOSH when it started to grow, but it really has. I’ve always felt like my stomach looked a little pregnant, so I seriously feel like once this whole thing started my tummy was just like oh yeah? Pregnant? I can do that shape, been practicing against your wishes forever Carly, let’s do this.

And, bam. Big belly.

This is also why I don’t think I’ll need to buy any maternity clothes. Literally 90% of my wardrobe is maternity friendly. My love for flowy shirts and stretchy pants and skirts is really paying off right now. I am seriously considering being super stubborn and not buying anything just to see if I can pull it off.

Anyway, it’s our one year anniversary today so I’ve been feeling all kinds of nostalgic about our amazing wedding day.

ImageThe actual day (all the days actually, considering we had 5 different wedding events including all the indian parts) couldn’t have been more perfect and I’m happy to report that the first year of marriage was actually better than the 5 years of dating/engagement that came before it. A lot of people warned us that things would get harder post-marriage, I guess with that feeling of SHIT I CAN’T LEAVE NOW or something, but that wasn’t the case at all for us. Things have been much more relaxed, actually. And we spend an inordinate amount of time together since this year we work together, too. I constantly think about the fact that 99% of people would annoy the hell out of me if I were with them this much, my own family included. I’m pretty freaking lucky to have this guy.

Anyway, now people are giving the same advice with regards to the baby, about what a strain it will put on the relationship. I’m not saying it won’t happen, I’ve certainly accepted the possibility, but I’m also learning to take all this advice with a grain of salt.

Okay, hoping to semi-celebrate our anniversary tonight despite my funky stomach. Much love.

