I’m back from Berlin and that means back to forcing Hus to take more “official” belly pics in my awesome outfit that is looking progressively awkward on me.

Image

The lighting and green paint in my parents’ house is not nearly as flattering as the natural sunlight and bright blue walls of our apartment in Sayulita. I’m really not all that sickly looking in real life (I don’t think) though it does seem I am about 50% less tan all of sudden, right upon stepping foot outside of Mexico.

Here are miniature versions of all my pictures so far put together. Image

So exactly one month of the pictures were taken on the road, so to speak. It’s pretty obvious which ones are those. It was apparently a month of serious growth because that 21 week picture (right before the red dress pic) next to my most recent pic is a stark difference. I’m definitely feeling the growth now, too. Getting out of bed or up from the couch often makes me feel like a beached whale.

I’m trying to combat this beached whale feeling by keeping as active as possible. This meant walking ~10 miles a day in Berlin (not exactly by choice but it’s a big city and we were determined to see everything) and doing my own little yoga flow each morning in our apartment. Since getting here to Philly, I’ve kept up the daily yoga with 30-60 minutes each day.

Now that we are here and finally unpacked and settled, I feel like I need to get serious with preparing for Feez. I’m trying not to feel totally overwhelmed. This coming Friday is my first appointment at the birth center where I hope to be giving birth. It will feel good to get started there, since establishing a relationship with some of the midwives and getting a feel for their practice will help the reality of this set in.

On the plane I made a very bare bones list of things we need to buy/put on our registry. Then I got here to the internet to look some specific things up and was shocked by how crazy expensive baby stuff is. However, looking on Craigslist and getting advice from my friend Kari about solid local consignment shops made me feel a little less panicky.

Pokey also makes me feel less panicky. I can’t even explain how happy I was to be reunited with her after 2 weeks without her in Berlin. I started crying. I was very happy to see Hus also, obviously, when I saw him at the airport, but I didn’t cry when I saw him. What’s up with that?

ImageAnyway, I really need to remember the whole purpose of this blog which was to LOVE MORE and BE HAPPY throughout pregnancy. I think I’ve been doing a decent job actually, but now that shit is gettin’ a little more real it’s easy to fall into psycho, anxious, control freak mode. I’m not going to do it though.

I think each day I’ll focus on something specific I can love more and something, big or small, that is making me happy.

So first, to love more? My body. I adore my belly because it’s holding Feez, but sometimes I’m a little down on the fact that my thighs and arms seem to be growing exponentially too. And that’s hella dumb. My body is doing super amazing things and needs to be appreciated, not judged.

The thing that is making me happy is my new SNOOGLE! Yes, that really silly shaped big ass body pillow for pregnancy has totally revolutionized my life. Hus wants one too. Between the Snoogle and the low humidity here in Philly, I’m sleeping better than I have in my whole pregnancy. Yay.

Speaking of which, it’s definitely my bedtime aka snoogle-time. Much love.

