but I’m starting to genuinely miss Hafiz because he sleeps so much.

I think it’s actually in a normal range for babies his age, and he’s definitely not falling asleep easily (both naps today have been in carriers, one in the Ergo with Husein and one in the Moby with me, some tears prior to both) but all of a sudden his naps are LONG and his meals are super spaced out. The past four days have been somewhat like this: 

8:30 eat

9:30-12:30 sleep

12:30 – eat

2:30-5:30 sleep

5:30 eat and 7:00 nurse a little

between 7:30-9:00 fall asleep for that night

5:30ish in the morning – eat

6:00-8:00 sleep

and over and over again. 

Hmm that’s 16 hrs of sleep in 24 hrs, which is right on target according to this sleep chart http://www.mybabysleepguide.com/2013/02/average-sleep-charts-by-age.html but it feels like a lot more sleep than his prior schedule of 2.5 hrs between eating and 4 naps a day. Of course, that sleep chart says he should be taking 4 naps a day, and right now he’s only taking two 3 hr ones. But I don’t really care what the chart says if this is what Hafiz decides to stick to because getting him to fall asleep for two naps is MUCH better than four!!!!

Wow if he slept independently for his naps I would basically be living the dream.

I’m sure there is a zero percent chance that this schedule will stick since growth spurts, teething and new developmental stages abound in our future… but if this could at least be our schedule every so often from here on out I would be pleased.

20140128-182728.jpg
Check this out. Hafiz got a huge KNOT in his hair!! Which made me realize I have never once brushed it. It never even occurred to me . But he does have significant hair on his head, especially in the back. I feel that a mullet is in his future. Anyway, I had to cut that bad boy out. And now I’m in the market for a baby brush.

Yesterday was our third mom-baby yoga class and, once again, hafiz did great, although this was the first time he didn’t sleep during class. But he somehow held it together and then napped afterwards. Oh, best part? During savasana we had to rest our babies on our bellies and hafiz spit up all over me. It was hysterical. I thought I got it off, then the teacher comes around to give a little massage at the end and she says “there’s a lot of spit up in your hair” so she grabbed the burp cloth and took care of it. Not the most relaxing savasana ever 🙂

Oh and last night I did something I haven’t done in a whole year: painted my nails. Hands and feet. Bright red. I was avoiding nail polish because it smells so strong and chemically, and I was very concerned with all that while pregnant. I seriously thought everything was a potential threat to the baby. I know, I was and still am crazy. I feel so fancy now though! I especially love my toenails to have color. The fingernails will probably last three days since once I get one chip I call the whole thing off.

Tomorrow is my new mom’s group! And doing layout design for my book! And an interview about our business for a philly parenting blog (thanks to you, Kari!!!)! I also need to fit 30 minutes of yoga in there. I’ve been sticking to a good schedule of yoga one day, Insanity the next. I feel like my fitness level is getting back to where it once was, but my body… Not so much. Accepting things won’t be the same. I knew they wouldn’t but.. I guess it’s still shocking. I don’t know. I’ve had body image issues my whole life and they are definitely still there. The good thing now at least is that my priorities are in check and I value my health and being able to feed my son more than being super skinny. So I won’t go overboard with food restriction and over-exercise like I once did.

Speaking of which, gotta go eat ice cream 🙂 the inferior dairy free kind but ice cream nonetheless!!! xoxo

